And They’ll Know We are Christians by Our Love.

Today was my first day at the Commission on the Status of Women!  Will took me out for crepes (YUM!) before he dropped me off at the hotel at 11:30 a.m. (yes, I was a bit early…but I was excited).  After checking in, I walked over to the United Nations with Hannah to pick up our Grounds Passes!  YIPPY!!  I got a little excited and took a picture.  Once I figure out how to post pictures on here I will show y’all.  It was pretty exciting.

At 3pm we met with the whole PC(USA) Delegation at Church of the Covenant in Midtown for an Orientation.  It was 5 hours long…just a taste of what our 10 hour orientation will be like tomorrow apparently….

We opened up with “And They’ll Know We are Christians by Our Love”.  Some people don’t like that song…I do.  Especially in the context we are in this week:

“We are one in the Spirit, we are one in the Lord, (repeat) and we pray that all unity will one day be restored, and they’ll know we are Christians by our Love (repeat).

We will work with each other, we will work side by side (repeat) and we’ll guard each ones’ dignity and save each one’s pride, and they’ll know we are Christians by our love (repeat).

We will walk with each other, we will walk hand in hand (repeat) and together we’ll spread the news that God is in our land, and they’ll know we are Christians by our love.”

Sung by over 75 people…beautiful….

After that we got the scoop on all sorts of things like when we are supposed to be where, who we are supposed to meet, what we are supposed to be doing, etc!  It was a lot of information…most of which you really don’t need to know.  We also got to meet a lot of very interesting people from all over the United States.   As a grounds pass holder I found out how to use it, where to use it, and what it will get me in to.  We also went over the schedule of Side Events and Parallel Events that we can be a part of.

Our Young Women’s Leadership Development group met together tonight after our orientation to get to know each other better.  There are a lot of really great young women that I am excited to get to know over the course of this week.  And now we are back in our room, getting ready for bed.  We have to meet in the lobby at 7:50 to walk over to worship….too early…. See you tomorrow!

2 thoughts on “And They’ll Know We are Christians by Our Love.

  1. This song was sung in my Presbyterian Youth group when I was in High School (1970’s). It is perfect for your tasks together this week!

  2. We sing that every Saturday morning at Johnsonburg as we bid our campers farewell. I think it’s a really beautiful song, especially sung in large groups. Finally catching up on your adventures– excited to read on!

Leave a Reply

